Award Winners 2018

The FLTA Awards for Excellence 2018 were presented across 10 categories. Winners were decided by a carefully selected panel of industry experts. While the greatest honour is reserved for the victors in each category, all finalists can feel exceptionally proud in the knowledge that they are, justifiably, among the industry’s finest.

Apprentice of the Year

The fork lift truck industry suffers from a serious, long-term shortage of trained service engineers. This important award highlights the enthusiasm, professionalism and loyalty that today’s apprentices – tomorrow’s engineers – bring to their employers.

Winner: James Middleton of Linde Material Handling

Award sponsor: 

Dealer Member of the Year Award

Presented to the fork truck dealership deemed to have provided the most innovative or appropriate solution to a customer’s particular materials handling requirements, this Award recognises the team which has best demonstrated a commitment to service; putting the customer at the heart of its business, and embodying the FLTA's core principles of productivity, integrity and safety.

Winner: MSM DRH

Award sponsor:   

Supplier of the Year

Decided by the FLTA’s membership, this coveted Archie is awarded to the supplier whose support has contributed the most to keeping the industry and its trucks at their most productive throughout the year.

Winner: MIDAC

Award sponsor: 

Environment Award

The Environment Award recognises significant strides in cutting emissions, working more efficiently or reducing consumption of precious resources – while still delivering the goods.


Award sponsor:  

Ergonomics Award

The Ergonomics Award is designed to acknowledge the work that goes into keeping the operator more comfortable and efficient – helping operator and equipment to work in perfect harmony – while still maintaining the drive to fulfil the twin goals of safety and productivity.

Winner: Linde Material Handling

Award sponsor: 

Safety Award

Safety remains at the top of the FLTA’s agenda and this year’s finalists were excellent examples of the strides made by manufacturers to make their products safer and help reduce accidents and resulting injuries.

Winner: Elokon

Award sponsor: 

Innovation Award

Just when you thought you’d seen everything… along comes a whole series of new products that demonstrate just how imaginative and innovative design engineers can be.

Winner: Philadelphia Scientific

Award sponsor: 

Services to the Fork Lift Truck Industry

Presented to an individual whose efforts have been instrumental in moving the whole industry forward, this category honours those who keep us all striving for ever higher standards.

Winner: John Knowles of JKC Creative Marketing

Award sponsor:     

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is the highest individual honour bestowed by the Fork Lift Truck Association. It is presented to an individual who has made a significant and outstanding contribution to the materials handling industry.

Winner: Paul Pleasants of PLP Lift Trucks

Award Sponsor :   

Safe Site Award

This special category recognises the achievements of companies
using – rather than supplying – fork lift trucks. Deserving recipients of this prize have gone the extra mile to implement effective safety measures and pioneer innovative initiatives which will ensure staff, visitors and the public are kept safe.

Winner: Scottish Railway Preservation Society

Award sponsor: